Today is Yom haShoah, or Holocaust Remembrance Day. Today, even as I gather with my Christian brothers and sisters to give praise to the name of Jesus, my joy will be tinged with sadness. I am a Jew, and members of my mother’s family were among the 6,000,000 Jews who were murdered by the Nazis during World War II.

6,000,000 people … that is by the way, the current population of the state of Tennessee. It numbs the mind to think of that many people exterminated for the simple crime of being who they were. It grieves me to think of the family members I never had the chance to meet because they perished in the Holocaust.

I would ask you to join me in praying today, that such an atrocity might never happen again.

I will never forget.

“For you are a people holy to the LORD your God; it is you the LORD has chosen out of all the peoples on earth to be his people, his treasured possession.”     Deuteronomy 14:2

 

