“This is our temporary home,” sings Carrie Underwood. “It’s not where we belong. Windows and rooms that we’re passin’ through.
This is just a stop, on the way to where we’re going. I’m not afraid because I know this is our temporary home.”

This idea of a temporary occupancy is one that Jesus talked of frequently, particularly when sharing parables with the crowds that gathered about him.

 So he said, “A nobleman went to a distant country to get royal  power for himself and then return. He summoned ten of his  slaves, and gave them ten pounds, and said to them, ‘Do  business with these until I come back.’ But the citizens of his  country hated him and sent a delegation after him, saying, ‘We  do not want this man to rule over us.’ When he returned, having  received royal power, he ordered these slaves, to whom he had  given the money, to be summoned so that he might find out what  they had gained by trading. The first came forward and said,  ‘Lord, your pound has made ten more pounds.’ He said to him,  ‘Well done, good slave! Because you have been trustworthy in a very small thing, take charge of ten cities.’ Then the second came, saying, ‘Lord, your pound has made five pounds.’ He said to him, ‘And you, rule over five cities.’ Then the other came, saying, ‘Lord, here is your pound. I wrapped it up in a piece of cloth, for I was afraid of you, because you are a harsh man; you take what you did not deposit, and reap what you did not sow.’ He said to him, ‘I will judge you by your own words, you wicked slave! You knew, did you, that I was a harsh man, taking what I did not deposit and reaping what I did not sow? Why then did you not put my money into the bank? Then when I returned, I could have collected it with interest.’ 24 He said to the bystanders, ‘Take the pound from him and give it to the one who has ten pounds.’ (And they said to him, ‘Lord, he has ten pounds!’) ‘I tell you, to all those who have, more will be given; but from those who have nothing, even what they have will be taken away.’ ” (Luke 19:12-26)

In this parable of the pounds, Christ is represented by the nobleman who has left on his long journey, leaving the care of his estate in the hands of his slaves. His instructions to these servants of his to do business with the pounds he has left with them might be read as, “Occupy my place until I return.”

What do the slaves do? Do they spend the money on themselves? Bury the funds until the return of the One who owns them? Or do they invest what He has given them, so on the Master’s return He can see what profit has been made?

The parable illustrates the two sides of the coin that come with being a disciple of Jesus. The two sides are responsibility and opportunity. Christ has gone, but He will return. Our responsibility is to occupy His place until He returns. We are to take what Jesus entrusts to us — the Gospel — and seize the opportunity to increase His kingdom. We have a limited time to accomplish this … “until I come back.”

What have you done today to seize the opportunity to share what the Lord has entrusted to you?

